Hot Yoga.

Voguefit Hot Yoga

I mentioned in my previous post that I’ve started classes at Hot Yoga. I take classes at Yoga Flame in Moonee Ponds. They have a trial where you pay $20 for unlimited classes for 10 days – what a bargain!

So far I have been 4 times and tried three different types of yoga.

Hot Yoga

What They Say:

Our signature class! Hot Yoga increases strength and flexibility across all areas of the body while the heat allows you to detox, open and transform. The basic structure of each class remains the same; however the sequences will vary to keep your practice fresh and challenging.

34 degrees. Perfect for both beginners and the seasoned practitioner

Different from Bikram Yoga. Bikram is done in a room heated to 42 degrees Celsius and Hot Yoga is only heated to 34 degrees, the perfect temperature for stretching if I do say so myself! My first time was on a 40 degree day so I found it to be quite pleasant as it was actually cooler in the room than outside! The asanas (or yoga postures) are similar to that of Bikram Yoga but there were a few that I had never tried before. I found there were some which I was quite good at and others where I need a lot more practice. I definitely need to work more on my core and balance and I can’t wait to see improvements.

Yin Yoga

Balance is important in every aspect of life so take some time each week to slow down. This class will invite you to take a moment and enjoy long deep stretches that will release both mental and physical tension. Emerge feeling relaxed and renewed.

24 degrees. Perfect for both beginners and the seasoned practitioner

A much slower paced class and not as hot as Hot Yoga. I absolutely loved this class. Each posture was held for about five minutes and we used a lot of yoga equipment like bolsters and blocks. The idea is to really be able to relax into the pose and in time, will help increase your flexibility. I will definitely be keeping this one up! Postures such as Dragon Pose and Swan Pose (I think that’s what they were called) focus on opening up your hips which I have a lot of trouble with so I can’t wait to see if this particular yoga will help me towards my goals of splits and backbends.

Yoga Basics

Whether you are new to yoga and want a slow paced class to learn the basics or have been practicing for a while and want to refine your postures- this is the class for you! During this complete practice we will explore alignment and purpose – giving you the tools to confidently join any class on our schedule.

24 degrees. Perfect for both beginners and the seasoned practitioner

I wanted to try this class to make sure that my technique was right and to refine my postures. The instructor showed us the proper way of how to do them and also did a great job at explaining what we would benefit from each one. I thought that she would come around to everyone and check that our alignment was right but she didn’t, I think that would be my only suggestion for this class. I will definitely do this class every so often to make sure I’m on the right track and especially at the start as I still get confused with some of the poses in the other classes.

I did one more Hot Yoga class which was being run by a different instructor. She was actually quite fast paced and I was struggling more than usual. I also think that this may have something to do with the fact that it was not a 40 degree day and the room actually felt hot! Anyway, I’ve tried a few different instructor’s classes and I now know who is suitable for me at my beginner level. Hopefully after I’ve been practicing for a bit longer and I am more comfortable with my asanas I will be able to go back to her class and nail it!

My trial ended on Monday and I went a total of 4 times in 10 days. That is an achievement for me and if I go at least twice a week (I’d like to go more often but I also have pole so I’m being realistic!) then I can take advantage of the $99 for one month of unlimited classes that they have available for purchase after you have completed the 10 day trial. Head to the Yoga Flame website for more info.

Voguefit Yoga Shoulder Stretch

I decided to add yoga to my regime as a way to try and help increase my flexibility. I also enjoy the meditative side of it, especially Shavasana or ‘Corpse Pose’. Quite a morbid name but it is a pose of total relaxation and rejuvenates the body, mind and spirit. After a yoga class I literally feel like I am floating on air and nothing can bring me down!

Have you ever tried yoga before or have been practicing for a while? Are you finding improvements in your core/balance/strength/flexibility? I’d love to know so please leave me a comment below 🙂

J xx

2 thoughts on “Hot Yoga.

    • That’s true! I’m hoping to continue with it. I started up again this week and hope to do it twice a week! I can already notice the small improvements and can’t wait to see more 🙂

Leave a comment