Girl Crush: Maddie Sparkle

Maddie Sparkle Don Curry3

I haven’t done a girl crush post in a while so thought it was time to do one. I’m a bit embarrassed to do this post especially since Maddie and her sister Shimmy recently stayed at my house during All Stars! That’s right! They needed a place to stay that was near the airport as they had a 6am flight the next day, and since my place is 10 minutes from the airport, I answered their Facebook plea – and they accepted! I still can’t believe it!

Anyway, Maddie was one of my earliest pole girl crushes when I was just starting out at pole which was about 3-4 years ago now. I first discovered Maddie & Shimmy on YouTube. Their style was quite similar but there was something about Maddie that I was always drawn to.

Some older images that I have always loved, gosh I wish I had her back!

Maddie Sparkle

Maddie Sparkle Justin Tran2

I always admired how flexible she was, how hard she trained and yet how petite she would stay! Even though she’s tiny she was so strong and would bust out these tricks that needed immense strength. I always looked forward to watching her new videos with lots of flexy tricks, sparkly costumes and hair flicks. She was one of the first people whose pole videos, that erred on the side of sexy, I would actually watch and not be weirded out. When I first started pole I was very pro “it’s-pole-fitness-it’s-not-sexual-at-all” so I would never watch the “sexy” videos. Now I’m all about the sexy but more on that later.

Some more recent photos of her by the amazing Don Curry:

Maddie Sparkle Don Curry

Maddie Sparkle Don Curry4

Maddie Sparkle Don Curry2

To this day, she is still super flexible, super strong, works harder than ever and she just makes dancing look so effortless and beautiful.

Now that I’ve met her, I can also say that in real life she is a really nice person, she’s really funny and she may be tiny, but she eats a lot! And so is her sister, Shimmy!

How amazing is she in this video?

There I confessed, now tell me who your girl crushes are so that I don’t sound like a total weirdo!

Note: All images from Maddie Sparkle’s Facebook page, the photographers are Don Curry and Justin Tran.

2 thoughts on “Girl Crush: Maddie Sparkle

  1. Okay, now I’m jealous. Time to start training to be a girl crush! LOL

    So, yes, I’ll share my girl crushes. One: the figure skating legend Sasha Cohen. That is really more of a psycho will-hid-in-your-luggage crush, I’ll admit. I also adore Anastasia Skukhtorova, that one is more platonic. OH! Karol Helms. Let’s say if she needed a place to sleep I would kindly offer my bed and a bottle of tequila. You know, to help her sleep… 😉

    • Haha.. right? I’m sure that you are someone’s girl crush! I have a LOT of girl crushes.. you never know 😉
      Oh I’m unfamiliar with Sasha but will look her up ASAP! Haha.. and love the intensity of the crush! Anastasia is also one of my girl crushes.. I have actually met her and done a workshop with her too! Love you style, I think we feel the same way about our crushes hehe.

Leave a comment